Western Canada, also called the Western provinces, is the region with the provinces of Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Also Yukon Territory we count with it. British Columbia is considered as the cultural, economic, geographical and political centre. The other provinces is more commonly referred to as ' The Prairies '. The capitals of the Western provinces are Victoria (BC), Edmonton (Alberta), Regina (Saskatchewan) and Winnipeg (Manitoba). Calgary is the largest municipality if it arrives on population in Western Canada. Vancouver is the largest city.

The Canadian Prairies make a large extent of Western Canada. They describe a country that is flat and mainly used as farmland for grain. Nevertheless, there are also hilly areas, such as Cypress Hills and Alberta Badlands and there are also large forested areas. The Canadian Rockie form a large separation from the North to the South and more or less indicates the border between Alberta and British Columbia. The Columbia and Fraser rivers start in the Canadian Rockies and are the second and third largest river. 

The coast of British Columbia has usually reasonably wet winters and dry summers. They have the mildest winters in all of Canada, since it almost never freezes. The mountainous interior is drier and has colder winters, but also warmer summers. Alberta also has a rather dry continental climate with warm summers and cold winters. Via the North the Arctic weather reaches the province, so the winters are extremely cold in the north. Yet sometimes creates the "Chinook winds" for a warmer breeze. The summer can be cool to warm, but are usually wetter than in BC. In Saskatchewan and Manitoba can you encounter huge extreme weather conditions. In the winter it can be very very freezing, by the Arctic winds. In the summer it is in turn very warm.